The Western New York Library Resources Council (WNYLRC) is a not-for-profit consortium of libraries and library systems serving six counties: Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, and Orleans. The Council was chartered by the New York State Board of Regents in 1966. Member libraries include public and school library systems and academic, corporate, hospital and other special types of libraries. WNYLRC is one of nine regional Councils across the state.

WNYLRC is governed by a peer volunteer Board of Trustees. Operations are conducted by a staff at the central headquarters. Specific issues and activities are addressed by various volunteer standing committees and discussion groups comprised of staff from member libraries. See Board members below. WNYLRC governance adheres to its member bylaws which is a set of rules by which the organization operates. The bylaws are developed by the Board and approved by the membership.

WNYLRC Member By-Laws

Most Council programs are funded by state aid administered by the Division of Library Development at the New York State Library. Below are specific laws and regulations that govern operations and Board activities of every Council in the state including grant programs that they manage and oversee.

General Laws and Regulations Pertaining to the 9 councils
General Regulations 90.5
General Regulations 90.6
General Laws 226, 255, 272, 273

Coordinated Collection Development Aid (CCDA)
CCDA Regulations 90.15
CCDA Law 273

Hospital Library Services Program (HLSP)
HLSP Regulations 90.17
HLSP Law 273

Medical Information Services Program (MISP)
MISP Law 273 (Guidelines)
MISP Law 273


Board Officers:

Board Members: